客户名称:  I 公司
业务类型:  零售
所属行业:  家居家电
创办于:  瑞典
公司规模:  210,000+
合作开始于:  2015
服务类型:  产品手册
案例简介:

翻译周期过长、翻译质量参差不齐、更新翻译资料操作复杂难度大是大多数企业都会碰到的常见问题,明汕通过结合行业最佳实践为客户量身打造性价比最高的解决方案,为家居行业国际知名零售商I公司全球化过程中的手册翻译需求铺平道路,使其可以从容应对数十国语言的资料管理和翻译工作,让语言从阻碍业务顺利进行的壁垒变成企业国际化的助推器。

Share:

Streamlined Procedure and Established Standard Bring More Benefits

I 公司创办于风景如画、崇尚简约的北欧。经过了半个多世纪的发展,I公司通过不同品类的家居产品和服务,将北欧生活的理念带给千家万户。截止目前,I公司业务遍及全球50多个国家和地区,拥有超过400家大型门店,其品牌已成为全世界范围内家喻户晓的品质生活象征。

主要挑战

在正式开启与I公司的合作之门后,明汕对I公司当时的语言服务架构和流程进行详细的梳理,并发现以往I公司在以往的相关业务中存在以下痛点:

  • 翻译周期过长且不可控。I公司翻译相关业务在引入明汕之前曾经长期处于自治形态,即内部联系和下发至各国区域由相关机构或当地员工自行完成翻译,在这个过程中由于涉及语言较多,沟通链条长且成本高昂,交付时间往往无法控制,尤其难以满足紧急需求。
  • 翻译质量与成本不可控。由于翻译的工作之前是主要由当地人员完成,因此之前并没有一套完善的流程与工具对翻译业务进行专业的管理和控制,这就使得翻译过程中不但翻译质量和效率较低,人工翻译的成本同样居高不下。
  • 资料更新翻译操作复杂难度高。原模式下资料由于缺乏版本控制且标准模糊,使得资料在更新的过程中遇到了格式不一,版本混乱的问题,大大增加了更新翻译的难度。

解决方案

经过对I公司业务现状的详细分析,明汕第一时间就组建了由从业务到生产各个环节负责人构成的专属客户小组,以专业的能力和快速的反应全面接管客户的多语言翻译业务。同时针对客户当前痛点迅速制定了降本增效的改善计划:

  • 提升专业。协助客户建立各类专业语料库并常态化管理。不但实现了翻译过程中的工具化和标准化,同时也与客户审校的反馈机制进行了拉通,保证了翻译的一致性并提升了翻译质量。
  • 建立流程。重新梳理了规范的翻译业务流程。将与I公司合作的所有业务都进行了总结和梳理,明确和简化了客户内外部的业务流程,显著提升了工作推进的效率。
  • 明确规范。协助客户建立资料版本控制的体系与规范,明确资料文件类型与更新翻译的协作处理要求,使得更新翻译资料过程中的沟通成本大大降低。

关键成果

经过一段时间对于该计划的落地和实施,I公司在翻译业务层面获得非常显著的提升:

  • 效率提升50%以上。由于明汕提供完全一站式的多语言翻译服务,原本自行协调松散组织模式变为了高效的集中化管理。原来通常需要几个月才能完成的项目,现在仅需要两周左右即可交付。
  • 成本降低50%以上。通过为客户搭建专业的语料数据库,明汕为客户在翻译过程中节省了大量现金支出,消除了重复劳动,实现了整体50%以上的成本优化。

明汕翻译服务

明汕是一家通过ISO 17100: 2015国际翻译质量管理体系认证的领先的翻译和本地化服务提供商,通过各种专业解决方案助力客户突破语言障碍,服务包括:

明汕翻译

Client Name:  Company I
Business Type:  Retail
Industry:  Home Appliances
Region:  Sweden
Company Size:  210,000+
Start of Partnership:  2015
Scope of Services:  Product manuals

Share:

Case Study Brief:

Long translation cycles, inconsistent translation quality, and the complexity of updating translation materials is a common problem faced by most enterprises. By integrating industry best practices to tailor solutions with high price performance, MaxSun ensured that the product manual translation requirements of an international home retailer were met during its globalization process. MaxSun facilitated the management and translation of documents across dozens of languages, transforming the localization process from a bottleneck to a core driver of globalization.

Streamlined Procedure and Established Standard Bring More Benefits

Company I was founded in a picturesque and minimalistic Nordic country. After over half a century of development, Company I has popularized the concept of Nordic living to millions of households through its variety of home products and services. Company I operates in over 50 countries and regions across the world. With over 400 major stores, its brand has become a household name and a symbol of quality living.

Key Challenges

After the partnership officially began, MaxSun conducted an in-depth review of Company I’s linguistic processes and identified a variety of pain points by referencing previous projects.

  • Long and difficult to manage translation cycles: Before its partnership with MaxSun, Company I’s localization processes were largely autonomous, meaning that documents were distributed to various regions, where they were translated by relevant agencies or the local departments themselves. The many languages involved in this project led to long chains of communication, high costs, and translation cycles that were difficult to manage, especially when time requirements were strict.
  • Translation quality and costs could not be controlled: As translations were primarily handled by local personnel in the past, there was no complete set of processes and tools for professional management and control, leading to lowered quality and efficiency, along with the need for high-cost manual translations.
  • Updating translation is complex and difficult: The lack of version controls and vague standards caused issues such as inconsistent formatting and confused version management, greatly increasing the difficulty of the update process.

Key Solutions

After a detailed analysis of Company I’s operations, MaxSun immediately established a dedicated customer group composed of managers from business to production and took over the company’s multilingual translation operations with expertise and rapid delivery. MaxSun also quickly formulated a plan to reduce costs and improve efficiency based on Company I’s pain points.

  • Improved professionalism: MaxSun assisted the company in the establishment and management of various professional corpora. In addition to developing a tool-oriented and standardized translation process, MaxSun integrated a feedback mechanism to improve the consistency and quality of translations.
  • Process development: MaxSun reorganized the standards of the translation process, synthesized and reorganized all the services its provided to Company I, and simplified Company I’s internal and external operations to significantly improve efficiency.
  • Clarified specifications: MaxSun helped Company I establish systems and standards for version control and clarified the file types and collaborative processing requirements for translation updates, greatly reducing the communication requirements and costs during the update of translated materials.

Key Results

After the initial deployment and implementation period, MaxSun’s solutions significantly improved Company I’s translation operations.

  • Efficiency increased by >50%: MaxSun’s complete one-stop multilingual translation services transformed Company I’s inefficient decentralized model into a highly centralized and efficient management process. Projects that once took months to complete can now be delivered within two weeks.
  • Costs reduced by >50%: By developing a professional corpus, MaxSun helped significantly reduce costs during the translation process and ensured that work was not repeated across different departments.

Get in touch

Connect with our team to learn more about Maxsun’s services.