免责声明:本文涉及国际相关技术法规指令,仅供参考之用。具体各区域市场准入与合规要求请以实际确认与操作为准。

关于手册类资料的价值争论从未停歇过,更别说是否有必要考虑多语言翻译。在企业业务全球化、产品持续出海的今天,作为相关业务负责人的您是否也有这样的顾虑呢?

产品就一定需要手册吗?

在讨论手册的价值或者翻译需求之前,首先可以明确的是“并不是所有产品都需要手册”。如果您的企业生产灯泡,那么对您的产品来说,手册就不是必需品,因为没有用户会需要查阅手册才能知道一只灯泡只有旋入底座接通电源之后才会发亮;但如果您的企业生产的是“Wi-Fi智能灯泡”,那么手册就成为必不可少的配件了,甚至如果没有手册的指导,您的用户将有可能寸步难行。这其中的差别就在于用户是否需要具备常识以外的技术知识才可以安全、有效地使用和操作产品。

很多国家或者国际组织都会在与对应产品的标准中针对产品资料做详细要求,比如欧盟(EU)在不同类型的指令(directive)中都要求用户必须可以清楚地了解产品的使用方式并可以安全地进行操作,那么如果您生产的不是一般旋入底座接通电源就能发光的“普通灯泡”,而是智能硬件类的“Wi-Fi智能灯泡”,那么显然产品手册的价值就没有争论的必要了,因为手册是欧盟对于产品“合规”的基本要求。

英文手册可以走遍全球吗?

答案是否定的。

IEC(International Electrotechnical Commission,国际电工委员会)针对家用电器或类似产品(household and similar electrical appliances)的标准60335-1¹中明确指出该类产品需要具有安全和功能等相关指示说明,并使用目标市场国家的官方语言编写:

7.13 Instructions and other text required by this standard shall be written in an official language of the country in which the appliance is to be sold.

欧盟现行的很多技术性指令中也直接要求手册必须采用当地语言进行翻译。例如,机械指令2Machinery Directive,2006/42/EC)中明确指出所有机械产品的使用说明必须采用目标市场或服务区域的官方语言:

1.7.4 Instructions

All machinery must be accompanied by instructions in the official Community language or languages of the Member State in which it is placed on the market and/or put into service.

虽然我们印象中欧洲大多数国家都具备非常高的英文普及率,但实际上即便是在欧盟国家中将英语作为官方语言的除了英国(已于2020年脱欧)和爱尔兰之外,也仅有马耳他一国。因此就算抛开各项指令的具体要求不说,英文资料在欧洲各国实际所能发挥的作用非常有限。

此外,除了很多国家强制标准中要求的手册翻译之外,母语在市场营销的过程中也发挥着同样重要的功能。在一份发布于2014年针对消费者在线购物情况的调查3中,组织者选定了全球各大洲的主要非英语经济体进行了调查,包括巴西、中国、埃及、法国、德国、印尼、日本、西班牙、以及土耳其。结果,在3002名受访者中:

  • 30%表示从来没有在英文网站上购物的经历
  • 56%表示偏好母语网站或拒绝英语网站
  • 所在国家经济发展程度越高,对于母语的偏好越高:认同“产品本身比母语信息更重要”的埃及受访者比例高达83%,最低的德国则为56%。

因此,母语不但是很多国家强制要求的准入规则,更是B2C场景下吸引新兴市场消费者乃至决定消费者决策的重要因素。

不合规风险

到这里不难看出,将产品手册翻译成目标市场的官方语言不仅能够符合各国准入规则,还能够有效助力产品提升在目标市场的消费认可度。但如果产品手册没有翻译将会产生什么样的风险呢?

各国,尤其是市场监管较为成熟的国家,针对不同类型的产品都有相应的市场监管机构4MSA, market surveillance authorities)负责确保国际标准及各国法规能够有效落实。各国MSA有权根据具体情况以及对相应法规和指令的解读,确认进口产品是否按照法规要求贴有正确的标识、联系信息、以及完整的技术文档等,并对不合规的责任方采取一定的制裁措施(sanction):对于海关申报阶段的产品将有可能处以拒收没收、甚至要求销毁的处理方式;对于已销售的产品进行下架甚至销毁处理,并将由MSA判定进行对应经济处罚。在此过程中各国当地的MSA具有宽泛的裁量权。

对于已经在销售阶段的产品,不具备母语手册也将带来不确定的风险。在波兰,民事法典(Civil Code)中第546条5(Article 546¹§ 1)规定卖家必须向购买产品的消费者用波兰语提供清晰、易懂、无误导的说明信息,以确保产品的完整性。因此消费者在发现供应商未提供波兰语手册的情况下有权认为产品不完整并提出投诉,如果供应商在规定期限内没有做出回应,则市场监管机构将会判定供应商违规,要求供应商重新发布完整的产品(带有波兰语手册),或退还全款。同时,针对波兰语手册缺失的情况,当地市场监管机构将有权要求产品立即下架,并可能受到最高5,000 PLN,约合1,330美元的处罚。

而就在最近,荷兰数据保护局(DPA)决定对TikTok做出罚款75万欧元的罚款决定6,理由是其未按照《一般数据保护条例》(GDPR)中的规定,向荷兰用户提供荷兰语版本的隐私保护声明。DPA认为TikTok的荷兰用户中存在大量的少年儿童,而该群体不具备理解英文版本隐私保护声明的能力。该事实违反了GDPR中要求商业机构“以简明、易获取和易理解”的方式向公众和数据主体传达信息”的相关规定。

结语

由于产品类别和各国指令法规的对应关系不一以及不同国家地区间巨大的市场环境差异,手册未翻译的情况不一定必然会导致该产品在目标市场被MSA判定为不合规或遭到消费者投诉,但是一旦出现被认定不合规的情况,轻则产品通关受阻,延误产品销售计划,重则直接导致产品下架或罚款。因此,提前考虑和准备产品相关资料的多语言化不仅能帮助产品更好地匹配消费者的母语偏好,同时也可以有效规避产品在进出口过程中因资料被判定不合规的风险。


联系我们

请求报价或与我们的团队联系了解更多明汕的语言服务

Ref:

  1. IEC 60335-1:2020 Household and similar electrical appliances – Safety – Part 1: General Requirements: https://webstore.iec.ch/publication/61880
  2. EU Machinery Directive 2006/42/EC: https://eur-lex.europa.eu/legal-content/EN/TXT/PDF/?uri=CELEX:32006L0042&rid=6
  3. CSA Online Shopping Language Preference Survey: https://csa-research.com/More/Media/Press-Releases/ArticleID/31/Survey-of-3-000-Online-Shoppers-Across-10-Countries-Finds-that-60-Rarely-or-Never-Buy-from-English-only-Websites
  4. MSA List: https://ec.europa.eu/docsroom/documents/45526/attachments/1/translations/en/renditions/native
  5. Polish Civil Code: https://isap.sejm.gov.pl/isap.nsf/download.xsp/WDU19640160093/U/D19640093Lj.pdf
  6. TikTok fined for violating children’s privacy (DPA): https://autoriteitpersoonsgegevens.nl/en/news/tiktok-fined-violating-children%E2%80%99s-privacy

Appendix: Official Languages of EU and EFTA Countries

No.European Union (EU) Member StatesOfficial Language
1AustriaGerman
2BelgiumGerman, French, Dutch
3BulgariaBulgarian
4CyprusGreek
5Czech RepublicCzech
6DenmarkDanish
7EstoniaEstonian
8FinlandFinnish, Swedish
9FranceFrench
10GermanyGerman
11GreeceGreek
12IrelandEnglish, Irish
13ItalyItalian
14LatviaLatvian
15LithuaniaLithuanian
16LuxembourgFrench, German
17MaltaMaltese, English
18NetherlandsDutch
19PolandPolish
20PortugalPortuguese
21RomaniaRomanian
22SlovakiaSlovak
23SloveniaSlovenian
24SpainSpanish
25SwedenSwedish
26United Kingdom (Withdrew from EU in 2020)English
27CroatiaCroatian
 European Free Trade Association (EFTA) Member StatesOfficial Language
28NorwayNorwegian
29IcelandIcelandic
30LichtensteinGerman
31SwitzerlandGerman, French, Italian

发表评论

邮箱地址不会被公开。 必填项已用*标注

84  −    =  78

Disclaimer: This document pertains to relevant international technical regulations and is intended for informational purposes only. Market access and compliance requirements for each region are subject to actual confirmation and operation.

The debate about the value of manual-type documentation has never ceased, let alone the necessity of multilingual translation. As a decision-maker for relevant operations, do you have such concerns in an era of business globalization and the continuous export of products?

Are Manuals Really Necessary?

Before discussing the value of the manuals or the need for translations, we should understand that not all products require a manual. For example, if your business produces light bulbs, manuals are not a necessity as no user needs to consult a manual to understand that bulbs will not glow until screwed into the base and connected with power. On the other hand, if your business produces smart Wi-Fi light bulbs, then manuals become essential as many customers may not understand how to use your product without some form of instruction. The difference lies in whether users require technical knowledge beyond that of common sense to use and operate the product safely and efficiently.

Many countries or international organizations have defined detailed requirements for product information in standards of corresponding products. For example, various European Union (EU) directives require that users have a clear understanding of using a product safely. Therefore, if your company produces smart Wi-Fi light bulbs instead of ordinary light bulbs that generate light when screwed into the base and connected with power, it is not necessary to consider if a product manual would be necessary as they are part of the basic requirements of the EU for product compliance.

Are English Manuals Good Enough?

The answer is no.

International Electrotechnical Commission (IEC) standard 60335-1 for household and similar electrical appliances specifies that such products must include instructions on use and safety in the official language of the target market country.

7.13 Instructions and other text required by this standard shall be written in an official language of the country in which the appliance is to be sold.

Many of the current EU technical directives also clearly require that manuals are translated into the local language. For example, Machinery Directive2 2006/42/EC explicitly states that all instructions for using machinery products must be in the official language of the target market or service area.

1.7.4 Instructions

All machinery must be accompanied by instructions in the official Community language or languages of the Member State in which it is placed on the market and/or put into service.

Though many have the impression that English has a high penetration rate in Europe, the fact is that apart from the UK (withdrew from EU in 2020) and Ireland, Malta is the only country in the EU with English as an official language. Even if we ignore the specific requirements of EU directives, the actual role of English-language materials in European countries is very limited.

In addition to the manual translations required by the mandatory standards of many countries, native-language materials play an equally important role in the marketing process. A 2014 online shopping survey3 was conducted on consumers from major non-English-speaking economies worldwide, including Brazil, China, Egypt, France, Germany, Indonesia, Japan, Spain, and Turkey. The survey found that of 3002 respondents:

  • 30% had never shopped on an English-only website.
  • 56% preferred websites in their native language or rejected English websites entirely.
  • The higher a country’s economic development, the greater its preference for its native language: Up to 83% of Egyptian respondents agree that “the products themselves are more important than information in my native language”, compared to just 56% of German respondents, who expressed the lowest level of agreement.

The use of native-language materials is not simply a requirement for market entry to many countries but also an important factor in attracting consumers in emerging markets and even determining consumer decisions in B2C scenarios.

Risk of Non-Compliance

It can be easily seen that translating product manuals into the official language of a target market not only conforms to the market entry rules of various countries but can also help improve local consumer recognition of the products in question. But what risks would arise if a product manual was not translated?

Countries, especially those with mature regulation mechanisms, have market surveillance authorities (MSA)4 responsible for ensuring the effective implementation of international standards and national laws and regulations for different types of products. The MSA of each country has the right to confirm, on a case-by-case basis and in accordance with its applicable regulations and directives, whether imported products have been properly marked with the required logos, contact information, and complete technical documentation, and impose penalties on those not in compliance. Products at the customs declaration stage may be rejectedconfiscated, or even destroyed, while products on shelves may be removed or destroyed. This process and the corresponding economic penalties are determined at the broad discretion of the MSA.

The absence of a native-language manual for products that are already in the sales stage also presents uncertain risks. Article 546 § 15 of the Polish Civil Code stipulates that sellers must provide consumers with clear, understandable, and non-misleading information in Polish to ensure the integrity of the product. Consumers are entitled to consider a product without a Polish manual to be incomplete and lodge a complaint. Suppose the supplier does not respond within the specified time limit. In that case, the MSA will determine that the supplier has violated regulations and requires re-issue a complete product (with a Polish manual) or refund the full amount. Should a product lack a Polish manual, the MSA has the right to require the product to be immediately pulled from shelves and may issue a fine of up to PLN 5,000 (approximately USD 1,330).

Recently, the Dutch Data Protection Authority (DPA) has imposed a fine of €750,000 on TikTok for violating the privacy rights of children6. The reason is that many TikTok users in the Netherland are children that may not be able to read and understand the privacy statement in English when installing and using the app. Therefore, by not offering the privacy statement in Dutch, TikTok failed to adequately explain how the app collects, processes,, and uses personal data, which violated the General Data Protection Regulation (GDPR).

Conclusion

The variation in product categories, national directives and regulations, and the huge differences in market environments between different countries and regions, an untranslated manual may not necessarily lead to the corresponding product being judged as non-compliant by the MSA in the target market or lead to consumer complaints. However, products that are judged to be non-compliant may be hindered in customs, lead to the delay of sales plans, or even to direct removal from shelves and the levying of fines. As such, the consideration and preparation of materials in advance can not only ensure products better match consumers’ native-language preferences. Still, they can also effectively avoid the risk of non-compliance during the import/export process.


Get in touch

Request a quote or connect with our team to learn more about Maxsun’s language services.

Ref:

  1. IEC 60335-1:2020 Household and similar electrical appliances – Safety – Part 1: General Requirements: https://webstore.iec.ch/publication/61880
  2. EU Machinery Directive 2006/42/EC: https://eur-lex.europa.eu/legal-content/EN/TXT/PDF/?uri=CELEX:32006L0042&rid=6
  3. CSA Online Shopping Language Preference Survey: https://csa-research.com/More/Media/Press-Releases/ArticleID/31/Survey-of-3-000-Online-Shoppers-Across-10-Countries-Finds-that-60-Rarely-or-Never-Buy-from-English-only-Websites
  4. MSA List: https://ec.europa.eu/docsroom/documents/45526/attachments/1/translations/en/renditions/native
  5. Polish Civil Code: https://isap.sejm.gov.pl/isap.nsf/download.xsp/WDU19640160093/U/D19640093Lj.pdf
  6. TikTok fined for violating children’s privacy (DPA): https://autoriteitpersoonsgegevens.nl/en/news/tiktok-fined-violating-children%E2%80%99s-privacy

Appendix: Official Languages of EU and EFTA Countries

No.European Union (EU) Member StatesOfficial Language
1AustriaGerman
2BelgiumGerman, French, Dutch
3BulgariaBulgarian
4CyprusGreek
5Czech RepublicCzech
6DenmarkDanish
7EstoniaEstonian
8FinlandFinnish, Swedish
9FranceFrench
10GermanyGerman
11GreeceGreek
12IrelandEnglish, Irish
13ItalyItalian
14LatviaLatvian
15LithuaniaLithuanian
16LuxembourgFrench, German
17MaltaMaltese, English
18NetherlandsDutch
19PolandPolish
20PortugalPortuguese
21RomaniaRomanian
22SlovakiaSlovak
23SloveniaSlovenian
24SpainSpanish
25SwedenSwedish
26United Kingdom (Withdrew from EU in 2020)English
27CroatiaCroatian
 European Free Trade Association (EFTA) Member StatesOfficial Language
28NorwayNorwegian
29IcelandIcelandic
30LichtensteinGerman
31SwitzerlandGerman, French, Italian

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

2  +  2  =