在AI盛行的互联网时代,翻译作为人类最古老的传统职业之一也正在被赋予全新的含义。正如几年前AlphaGo所掀起的AI大潮,经过十余年的快速发展,机器翻译也已经给翻译行业带来了翻天覆地的变化。在很多人心中,翻译曾经是完全依赖个人学识和经验能力且与人工智能八竿子打不着的文化类学科,而如今我们越来越关注“如何与机器翻译更好协作”这样的科学话题。

MTPE:译后编辑还是译前编辑

对于和机器的协作方式,MTPE(machine translation post-editing,机器翻译译后编辑)这种模式在专业领域已经可谓家喻户晓,但是可能很多人还并不了解“译后编辑”还有一个同样名为“PE”的孪生双胞胎“译前编辑(pre-editing)”。虽然听起来跟译后编辑只差一个词,但是实际上译前编辑在技术层面与译后编辑有着明显的差异,并且可以产生完全不同的价值。

什么是译前编辑?

译前编辑虽然目的与译后编辑相同,都是为了更好地提升机器翻译的译文质量,但是工作对象完全不同:译后编辑处理的是翻译后的译文译前编辑处理的是翻译前的原文。相比译后编辑直接对成品进行加工的方式,译前编辑的工作主要是对加工前的毛坯进行打磨,使得原文在进行机器翻译前能够达到更高的质量水平,提升机器翻译的准确度和生产质量。作为译后编辑上游的环节,译前编辑可以对原文进行预处理和控制:有效的译前编辑可以明显降低译后编辑的工作量甚至在一定程度上替代译后编辑。

译前编辑做什么?

既然是对翻译前的原文进行编辑,那么译前编辑的标准是什么呢?由于译前编辑的最终目标是帮助提升译文的质量,那么评判译前编辑是否到位的标准就不应该是“原文是否更流畅更优美”,而是“机器能不能翻译对”,也就是说负责译前编辑时需要首先理解机器翻译的特性,并以此为指导对原文进行能够适应机器翻译的优化和重构,通常包括:

  • 修正原文中的错别字、标点、语法等各类低错。
  • 对原文中的术语使用进行优化,修正错误和不规范术语,并确保一致性。
  • 通过改写简化原文过度复杂的句式或语法结构,将长句拆解为短句。
  • 消除原文中可能存在的歧义或语意不明等现象,将习语和俚语等替换成简明直白的表述。

经过译前编辑处理后的原文应该确保在通过机器翻译之后可以产生出较为准确明晰的译文,或者只需要少量统筹性的译后编辑即可完成交付。

译前编辑的独到价值

作为机器翻译业务模型中的两种不同处理模式,译前编辑与译后编辑一样都具有非常重要的意义。那么与相对普及的译后编辑相比,译前编辑又有什么独到的价值呢?

译前编辑的独到价值

首先,译前编辑的成本更低。译后编辑要求目标语言能力,因此一旦MTPE项目中的目标语言较多,则需要每种目标语言都分别配置译后编辑人员,并按照语向计算平行的编辑工时;而译前编辑只需要针对一种原文语言配置编辑人员,只进行一次编辑即可。

其次,译前编辑的效率更高。试想原文中如果存在一处明显的错误,一旦经过机器翻译,译后编辑面临的问题就变成了在每种语言中都分别修正一次;而采用译前编辑的方式则可以最大程度上消除译后编辑工作中不同语向间重复的工作内容,大大提升整体项目的工作效率。

而事实上,译前编辑的逻辑其实在语言服务行业诞生之初就存在了,只是更多的专业服务供应商从技术层面把翻译前的准备工作称作“(工程)前处理”。前处理的对象以样式为主,但也经常会包含语言相关的元素,以提升翻译生产时的效率和质量。

译前译后都重要

机器翻译从诞生之初就一直满载争议属性,而MTPE作为人机协作的中间线路极大地提升了机器翻译的实用属性,使得这项技术在越来越多的场景中得以落地。而随着译后编辑应用的推广,越来越多的目光也开始投向了业务的上游,将译前编辑与译后编辑作为一个有机的整体进行综合治理,以获得最优的生产结果。事实上,无论是否直接与机器翻译相关,在翻译前对原文按照标准进行预处理甚至是编辑往往都能明显帮助提升译文质量并且达到降本增效的作用,这也说明了译前的准备和译后的优化对于任何翻译模式来说都同样重要。


联系我们

请求报价或与我们的团队联系了解更多明汕的语言服务

知乎https://www.zhihu.com/org/ming-shan-yu-yan-fu-wu

领英https://linkedin.com/company/maxsun-international-hk-limited

发表评论

邮箱地址不会被公开。 必填项已用*标注

4  +  1  =

The Internet and AI era have given the age-old art of translation entirely new meanings. Just as with the AI boom started by AlphaGo just a few years ago, after more than 10 years of rapid development, machine translation has also drastically changed the translation industry. While in the past, translation was considered an AI-incompatible cultural discipline that relied entirely on personal knowledge and experience, the industry is now focusing more on how to better integrate machine translation.

RELATED: 8 Best Google Translate Alternatives [for 2021]

machine translation post-editing

In terms of machine collaboration, while MTPE (machine translation post-editing) is already a well-known model in the industry, many don’t know that there is another “PE”, namely pre-editing. Despite the similarities of their names, pre-editing is significantly technically different from post-editing and has to potential to lead to completely different results.

What is Pre-Editing?

Though the purpose of both post-editing and pre-editing is to improve the quality of machine translation, post-editing focuses on improving the quality of the target text after it has been translated, while pre-editing focuses on polishing the source text before translation to improve the quality and accuracy of the machine translation. As an upstream link to the post-editing process, pre-editing can help refine the source text to significantly reduce the workload of post-editing, and in some cases, even render the process unnecessary to a certain extent.

What Does Pre-Editing Entail?

So just what are the criteria for the pre-editing process? As the ultimate goal for this process is to improve the quality of the resulting translation, the criterion for judging its success should not be the quality of the edited source text, but rather how easy it is to machine translate. In other words, those response for pre-editing first need to understand the complexities of the machine translation process and use this knowledge as a guide to optimizing and reforming the source text in a manner more conducive to machine translation. This includes:

  • Correction of typos, punctuation, grammar, and other basic errors in the source text.
  • Optimizing the use of terminology, correcting improper and unstandardized terminology, and ensuring consistency in the source text.
  • Rewriting and simplifying unnecessarily complex sentence and grammatical structures in the source text, and breaking down long sentences into shorter ones.
  • Eliminating any possible ambiguities in the source text, while replacing idioms and slang with simple and straightforward expressions.

The pre-edited source text should ensure a more accurate and clear target text after machine translation, one that requires only a small amount of coordinated post-editing to be viable for delivery.

The Unique Value of Pre-Editing

Both pre-editing and post-editing provide key value to the machine translation business model. Let’s take a deeper look at the unique value that pre-editing offers.

The Unique Value of Pre-Editing

Pre-Editing Costs are Lower: As post-editing requires competency in the target language, the personnel and time required rises with the amount of target languages in the MTPE project. Pre-editing, on the other hand, only requires a single pass from editors competent in the source language.

Pre-Editing is More Efficient: Consider a scenario in which there is an obvious error present in the source text. Once machine translation is carried out, this error must then be identified and corrected by the post-editor of each individual target language. With pre-editing, this error needs only to be identified and corrected once, thereby greatly increasing the efficiency of the overall project.

The concept of pre-editing has in fact existed since the beginning of the language services industry, listed under the umbrella of “pre-processing/engineering” by most professional LSPs. The scope of pre-processing depends on the specific format, but often includes language-related elements to improve the efficiency and quality of the translation process.

Both Pre-Editing and Post-Editing are Important

Though translation has been a controversial topic since its introduction to the industry, MTPE, serving as a key component of human-machine collaboration, has greatly improved its practicality and enabled its deployment in a wider range of scenarios. With the popularization of post-editing applications and greater emphasis placed on upstream businesses, pre-editing and post-editing have been integrated into a cohesive whole to achieve the best results. The pre-processing or pre-editing of the source text in accordance with specific standards can achieve obvious results in terms of quality, efficiency, and cost reduction regardless of whether you’re planning to use machine or human translation. In other words, both pre-translation preparation and post-translation optimization are equally important for any translation project.


Get in touch

Request a quote or connect with our team to learn more about Maxsun’s language services.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

I'm not a robot *

Maxsun Translation