进入互联网时代后,我们每个人的消费结构都发生了彻底的变化,其中最明显的一个特点就是传统线下的消费模式转到了线上。这个转换让我们的购买行为从信息的获取、商品和服务的评估、再到最后的决策都充满了信息的互动,而这个互动中最有代表性的环节之一就是刷评论。用户评论不但可以让我们了解商品和服务的质量,也可以了解商家的各种信息和其他买家的使用经验。很多时候花几分钟快速浏览一下其他用户的留言和评论就算不能让我们马上找到心仪的目标,也可以帮我们“避坑”。

What is UGC?

说到用户评论就不得不说UGC。UGC的全称是 user-generated content (UGC), 即“用户生成内容”,指的是在互联网环境下由用户围绕一定的主题在线生成的各种形式的内容,包括图片,视频,博客,评论,问答等等。UGC可以是很多互联网活动的衍生品,也可以是很多互联网产品的基础和核心。因此即便不是小红书或者B站的up主,我们每个人在日常生活中也都随时有可以成为UGC的生产者、使用者、传播者。

UGC不但与我们的生活时刻相伴,更是很多互联网服务赖以生存的必要因素。比如对于旅游出行来说,预定酒店的决策基本就完全依赖于其他用户的评论,尤其是最近发生的新评论:即便是一家总体评价很高的酒店,如果我们看到最近一周的评论说酒店附近有建筑工地正在施工,噪音和灰尘明显,那么我们很有可能就会直接跳过这个选项。

Translation is a Key Element of UGC

翻译是UGC绕不开的话题

根据Youtube提供的数据,一位创作者所产生的观看时长有三分之二来自于他所在的地区之外。因此在很多领域,UGC的生产者、使用者、以及传播者都有可能使用的不是同一种语言。当然我们也可以将需要翻译的UGC内容一条条地复制黏贴到一些网络翻译工具中去,但那样太花时间,并且不是所有平台和内容都能实现的。

于是UGC翻译就成了很多国际平台这几年争相攻关的目标,从Airbnb的评论翻译到视频Youtube的字幕翻译,我们发现UGC翻译正在迅速拉近创作者和受众之间的距离,让UGC在全球传播的过程中发挥出更大的价值。

UGC翻译的挑战

UGC翻译面临着很多新的挑战,因为其与传统的技术性内容和营销文案相比呈现出完全不同的特点:

  • 实时生成。UGC的一个最显著的特点就是这些内容会源源不断地持续产生,不会像大多数技术性内容那样随着产品和服务同步进行有计划有节奏的版本迭代。
  • 体量庞大。UGC的背后并不是一个公司内部的产品研发团队或者文档开发小组,而是成千上万的用户群体,这也决定了UGC的渠道一旦形成,其体量一定是非常庞大而且持续快速增长。
  • 时效性与相关性决定一切。对于UGC来说,读者最感兴趣的往往只是那些最近生成、浏览最多或是点赞最高的条目,其余内容的热度往往会迅速下降并逐渐无人问津。
  • 用户偏好五花八门。对于北欧国家的用户来说,他们不但愿意接受英文内容,甚至自己也直接生产英文内容;但是对于很多其他的国家来说,用户即便是具备一定的英文能力,也通常会偏好使用本国语言。
  • 质量要求千差万别。就像之前说的,如果我们只是想订一个酒店,那么迅速浏览一下由机器生成的评论译文,我们就大致可以获取我们想要的所有信息了;但如果我们正在制作旅行计划,想要参考一下其他游客写的游记,那么此时自动生成的译文就很难提供准确细致的信息了。

因此UGC翻译过程中需要考虑很多在传统语言服务领域很少遇到的技术问题,找到一个成本、时效、质量能够有机结合的平衡点。

认证的语言服务

专业翻译服务唾手可得,明汕翻译-您身边的语言专家。

内容创作服务

技术写作服务 / 文案写作服务 / 网页设计与网站翻译服务

笔译和口译

软件本地化服务 / 技术翻译服务 / 口译服务 / 多媒体翻译服务 / 创译服务

启示

UGC翻译的策略与传统语言服务行业中非常成熟的业务模型大相径庭:UGC实时生成、体量庞大、以及高时效性和相关性的特点决定了它从时效和成本层面上说都很难采用完全人工的方式去处理。所以我们看到越来越多UGC领域的翻译业务都是由甲方主导围绕机器翻译等语言科技开展的解决方案设计,并且产生了大量优秀的实践。

虽然UGC和传统语言服务行业所面对的内容类型有着明显的差异,其实践成功的经验很难直接在传统行业进行复制推广,但是UGC翻译的实践与成功证明了语言科技在语言服务行业发展过程中的重要性。UGC所代表的内容类型可以通过更加灵活高效的方式进行处理与翻译,用更低的成本,更快的速度,创造更好的用户体验。


联系我们

请求报价或与我们的团队联系了解更多明汕的语言服务

发表评论

您的电子邮箱地址不会被公开。 必填项已用*标注

I'm not a robot *

明汕翻译

The Internet Era has completely changed the model of consumption, most obviously from traditional offline formats to online formats. This transformation means that from the acquisition of information to the evaluation of goods and services and final decision-making, every step of consumer behavior is full of data interaction, with one of the most representative steps in this process being consumer reviews. In addition to helping us understand the quality of products and services, consumer reviews also provide information about the seller and the user experience of other buyers. Just taking a few minutes to quickly browse through reviews and comments can help us avoid pitfalls and identify red flags, even if they can't help us find the ideal product right away.

What is UGC?

One cannot talk about user reviews without mentioning user-generated content (UGC), which refers to online content such as pictures, videos, blogs, comments, and Q&As generated by users around a certain topic. UGC can be a derivative of many different kinds of online activities, along with the foundation of many products. As such, though we may not be uploaders on Xiaohongshu or Bilibili, each of us can become a creator, user, or influencer of UGC at any time in our daily lives.

More than just a part of our daily lives, UGC is also a necessary element to the continued functioning of many Internet services. For instance, consumers make the decision of which hotel to book almost entirely based on the reviews left by other users, especially the more recent ones. Even if a hotel had a high average rating, we would probably choose another if we saw that recent reviews had mentioned that construction nearby was causing significant noise and dust pollution.

Translation is a Key Element of UGC

Translation is a Key Element of UGC

According to data from YouTube, two-thirds of the watch time a creator generates comes from outside of their region. As such, the creators, users, and influencers of UGC in many fields may not share the same language. Though we could simply just copy and paste the UGC content that we wish to translate into an online translation tool, this process is time-consuming and cannot adapt to all types of platforms and content.

UGC translation has become a key area of competition for many global platforms in recent years. From the review translations of Airbnb to the video subtitle translations of YouTube, we found that UGC translation is rapidly closing the gap between creators and audiences, becoming more valuable in the process of global dissemination.

The Challenges of UGC Translation

As it differs completely from conventional technical content and marketing copies, translation of UGC content faces a variety of challenges.

  • Real-Time: One of the most significant features of UGC is that it is produced in a continuous stream, lacking the systematic or scheduled iteration of most technical content that is synchronized with products and services.
  • Large-Scale: UGC is produced not by an internal R&D or documentation team, but by user groups with thousands of people. This means that once formed, UGC channels are characterized by high volume and rapid growth.
  • Timeliness and Relevance are King: Consumers of UGC are mostly concerned with content that is recent, trending, or popular, with other content quickly falling to the wayside.
  • Significant Variety in User Preferences: Though users in Nordic countries may be happy with not only consuming but even producing English-language content, most other regions prefer content in their own language, even if they may also speak English.
  • High Variance in Quality Requirements: Though a quick skim of a machine-translated review will probably get the job done if we want simply want to book a hotel, the accuracy and level of detail required by travel plans and comparing notes with other tourists is difficult to realize through automated translation.

As such, UGC translation must consider many technical challenges rarely encountered in conventional language services to find a balance of cost, timeliness, and quality.

Certified Language Services

At your fingertips are a wide range of professional language services.

Content Services

Technical Writing
Copywriting & Marcom Writing
Web Design & Website Translation

Translatioin and Localization

Software Localization Service
Technical Translation Service
Interpretation Service
Multimedia Translation Service
Transcreation Service

Takeaways

The strategy for UGC translation differs significantly from the highly matured service model of the traditional language services industry. The real-time, large-scale, and recency-biased nature of UGC makes the use of fully manual translations difficult in terms of both timeliness and cost. This has led LSPs in the UGC sector to focus on technologies such as machine translation, with a large number of best practices created over time.

Though the content type of UGC and the traditional language services industry have clear differences and its best practices are difficult to directly replicate, the deployment and success of UGC translation show the importance of language technologies in the development of the language services industry. The content type represented by UGC can be processed and translated in a more flexible and efficient manner, thereby delivering a better user experience at lower costs and greater speeds.


Get in touch

Request a quote or connect with our team to learn more about Maxsun’s language services.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

I'm not a robot *

Maxsun Translation