解决一致性问题的最佳方案

如果您是一位公司相关部门的负责人,相信在组织越来越庞大,职能越来越复杂,协作越来越频繁的今天,您一定面对过以下这些问题:

  1. 研发部门的新人抱怨已有的代码根本看不懂,难以上手;老人抱怨代码开发和维护极其繁琐,白白浪费大量的人力。
  2. 营销部门不同设计师负责的各类折页、海报、网站、视频等等连公司的logo都不一样,就更别说配色五花八门,山寨气息十足了。
  3. 产品界面上一会儿“您”,一会儿“你”,又一会儿是“用户”;上一个界面还写的是email,下一个界面就成了e-mail。

看到这儿,您应该不难发现这些问题总结起来归根到底只有一个原因,那就是:一致性。而解决这些一致性问题的最佳方案之一,就是风格指南(style guide)。

 

What exactly is a style guide?

什么是风格指南呢?

简单来说就是针对一个主题,把谁在哪些地方该做什么、不该做什么、甚至是怎么做都列出来,形成一套共识体系,新人可以学习,老人可以参考,最后解决一致性问题。

不同风格指南的应用场景各不相同,比较常见的风格指南类型有:

视觉设计风格指南(visualstyle guide):

主要针对设计师在视觉传达方面进行规范和约束,比如各类图形(尤其logo)及其变体的使用场景和规范、不同材料在不同平台下的设计准则,以及公司品牌整体形象的定义等等。

编程风格指南(programming/coding styleguide):

该指南针对程序员在代码写作中常见的典型风格问题进行约束,比如源文件的命名、结构、编码格式;各类语句的详细写法要求;符号、缩进、空格的使用规范等等。

编辑风格指南(editorialstyle guide):

主要针对文字内容进行规范和约束,一般是针对于公司内部文档资料相关的部门编写,以保证公司不同出口输出的材料与内容上面文风、质感、语调等等都保持一致。常见内容包括:

  • 文体风格。比如明确读者类型,规范人称称谓,同样采用第二人称,电商公司在即时沟通的场景中更倾向于使用“亲”而不是“您”;又如使用英文写作,需要明确使用英式英语还是美式英语,涉及不同的拼写,词汇,句法结构等等。
  • 界面风格。针对不同的软件交互界面进行分类,设定不同界面场景下的用语规范,比如提示信息必须以句子形式用标点结尾;菜单或标题等内容采用单词首字母大写的titlecase。
  • 度量衡单位设定。中文材料使用公制单位,而海外材料视本地化要求不同需要转换成对应的非公制单位,同时如何对数据进行换算。
  • 标点符号和特殊字符。对各类全角和半角标点符号的使用方式进行说明和限制,同时明确可用的特殊字符以及对应的适用场景。
  • 用词辨析。对不同情景下的词汇使用规范加以明确,比如规定“点击”这个动作何时为“click“,何时为“tap”,又何时为“touch”。

由此可见,很多专业岗位都需要风格指南来指导和规范不同类型信息的生成和传达,一本好的风格指南对于企业的意义不亚于旅行者背包中的标尺和指南针。

 

在实际工作中能通过“一致性”给我们带来哪些重要的价值?

专业形象和品牌声音(brand voice)

首先,风格指南能够让读者更准确高效地get到正确的信息,在市场端建立公司的专业形象和品牌声音(brand voice):比如风格指南中需要约定一些常见的专有名词用法,像公司、产品,以及各类功能的术语都必须使用权威的正式名词,否则信息传递的有效性将大打折扣,公司形象也会受到影响。

风格指南能帮助公司避免不必要的法律风险

在一些非常重视平权并提倡“无偏见沟通(bias-free communication)”的国家,特殊场景下的一些措辞会比较敏感,因此通过风格指南可以很好地避免一些无意识冒犯用户的情况。比如在与用户的沟通过程中避免使用第三人称的“he/him”与“she/her”,统一使用第二人称的“you”;使用“chair”而非“chairman”这样带有性别指向的词汇;在一些专业术语方面,用“blocklist”和“allowlist”替代“blacklist”和“whitelist”,用“main/sub”或“primary/secondary”替代“master/slave”等等。这些带有文化、性别倾向甚至具有一定歧视含义的表达一旦在一些场合出现,轻则导致用户投诉,重则引起法律诉讼。

风格指南可以通过设定规范来大幅度减轻编辑和审校类人员的工作负荷,提升工作效率。

风格指南中需要对一些常见的语法问题和遣词造句方面通用的一些常识和偏好选择进行规定,避免人为操作和输入;同时针对写作风格进行明确的界定,比如在技术性文档中是否允许使用副词以及冗余内容的判定方式和实例等等。这些在“如何写”方面的问题得到统一之后,将会大大减轻后端再次确认的工作量,为公司带来降本增效的优化方案。

 

总结

综上所述,一本好的风格指南往往对内可以为公司节省大量的资源和成本,提升工作效率;对外可以提升用户体验,树立品牌形象,甚至避免纠纷和损失。明汕通过十年以上的行业实践与沉淀,汇聚技术传播界精英资源,可向各类企业客户提供专业的语言服务咨询,包括各语种相关的写作和翻译业务风格指南定制与咨询,帮助企业解决业务国际化和本地化过程中的相关问题,通过语言创造价值。欲了解详情,欢迎在后台留言。

 

联系我们

与我们的团队联系,了解更多关于明汕的服务

发表评论

邮箱地址不会被公开。 必填项已用*标注

  +  38  =  44

The best ways to ensure consistency

As your organization expands, operations become more complex, and partnerships increase, you are sure to have faced some of the problems outlined in this article.

  1. New personnel finds existing code difficult to understand, leading to length onboarding periods. Veterans complain that the code is difficult to develop and maintain, leading to significant waste in person-hours.
  2. The brochures, posters, websites, videos, and other content designed by the marketing department are often wildly inconsistent in color and version, even down to the organization's logo.
  3. The product interface has no uniform style, leading to chaotic switching between “you” and “user” or “email” and “e-mail.”

If you’ve read to this point, you’ve probably already figured out that all these problems can be summed up in a single word — consistency. And as many of you may have guessed, one of the best ways to ensure consistency is by creating a style guide.

 

What exactly is a style guide?

What exactly is a style guide?

To put simply, a style guide helps provides a central outline of what should be done, what shouldn’t be done, and even how something should be done for new personnel to study and veterans to reference.

Different application scenarios require different style guides. The most common of which are outlined below:

Visual Style Guides

Used to outline how designers use visuals. This includes specifications for various graphics (especially logos), platform-specific design guidelines, a definition for the overall brand image, and more.

Programming/Code Style Guides

Used to prevent common style issues from cropping up in the organization's code. This includes naming conventions, structures, and encoding formats; detailed requirements for various statement types; and specifications for symbols, indentation, spaces, and more.

Editorial Style Guides

This is used to provide guidelines for the organization’s text documents and materials to ensure that they are uniform in style and tone. Style guides typically include the below.

  • Word Style. Clarify the target reader, standard appellations, and proper use of grammatical persons. For example, certain tech companies tend to use “user” rather than “you.” Another example is American and British English, which require different spelling, vocabulary, syntactic structure, etc.
  • UI Style. Categorize proper style in different UI application scenarios. For example, alert messages should be punctuated in sentence form, while menus and titles should use title case.
  • Units of Measurements. While countries such as China use the metric system, units may need to be converted to one more appropriate target language.
  • Punctuation and Special Characters. Guidelines for the use of fullwidth and halfwidth punctuation and clarification on available special characters and their application scenarios.
  • Word Choice. Guidelines for proper vocabulary in different scenarios, such as specifying when an action should be described as a “click,” “tap,” or “touch.”

As we can see, style guides are critical for ensuring various tasks within your organization. A good style guide no less important for an organization than a compass is for an explorer.

 

The value a style guide can add to daily operations

Brand voice and professional image

Style guides can help ensure authoritative formal nouns for the organization’s name, products, and various functional terms. This allows us to impart information to our readers more accurately and efficiently, making it easier to develop a clear brand voice and professional image.

Style guides can also help protect organizations from legal risks

Certain locales that place great emphasis on “bias-free communication” may be more sensitive to specific word choices. Style guides can help organizations avoid causing any unintended offense. For example, style guides help ensure gender-neutral pronouns such as “you” rather than “he/him” and “she/her” or “chairperson” instead of “chairman.” Style guides also help avoid potentially offensive technical terminology, such as by using “blocklist” and “allowlist” rather than “blacklist” and “whitelist,” “main/sub” instead of “master/slave,” and so on. Without a proper style guide, expressions with cultural, gendered, or even discriminatory connotations may occasionally appear in your organization's content, which may result in complaints from users or even legal proceedings.

Style guides can also improve efficiency by greatly reducing editor workloads and establishing a clear set of standards

Style guides should outline common grammatical issues and provide common sense preferences for wording and sentence structure to ensure consistency. The style should be clearly outlined in areas such as adverb use in technical documents, definitions of redundant content, and so on. A unified style guide greatly optimizes the editing process, providing reduced costs and improved efficiency.

 

Conclusion

In summary, a well-written style guide helps save on plenty of internal resources and improves operational efficiency. From an external perspective, style guides improve the user experience, cultivate a stronger brand image, and even safeguard your organization against certain disputes. With over 10 years of experience, the elite technical communications team at Maxsun offers various professional language services to corporate clients, including writing and translating tailored style guides across various languages. By helping organizations navigate the hurdles of internationalization and localization, Maxsun delivers value through language. Please contact us if you wish to learn more.

 

Get in touch

Connect with our team to learn more about Maxsun’s services.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

11  +    =  12