在现代社会的发展过程中,随着人们生活水平的提高,医疗行业正在扮演着越来越重要的角色。

ISO标准翻译服务如何助力医疗CE MDR体系认证

与此同时,全球各地的医疗行业相关企业都在以更快的步伐争取进入更多的医疗市场以获得更好的商业机会,其中尤其是以欧洲市场的前景最为广阔。不过欧洲各国除了较为发达和丰富的市场需求之外,也有着最为完善的市场准入体系之一:CE。与美国的FDA认证类似,为了能够在欧盟市场进行医疗器械和设备的相关营销活动,设备和产品制造商们首先需要获得CE认证。医疗器械和设备如果能够获得CE认证,则标志其满足欧盟医疗器械法规(MDR)中的所有要求。

何为MDR?

MDR的全称是Medical Device Regulation,是欧盟于2017年正式发布的医疗器械新法规。根据欧盟要求,MDR将于2020年5月26日起正式取代原有的医疗器械指令MDD(Medical Device Directive 93/42/EEC)和有源医疗器械指令AIMDD(Active Implantable Medical Device Directive 90/385/EEC)。

在MDR自17年发布后至20年生效期间的三年过渡期中,相关企业将仍被允许按照MDD和AIMDD的要求进行CE认证的有效申请,但根据MDR中相关条款规定,在此过渡期内签发的CE认证证书有效期不超过5年,因此在原有MDD和AIMDD框架下申请的CE认证证书将最晚于2024年5月27日失效,之后所有CE证书将均以MDR新规为认证基础。

相比原有指令MDD和AIMDD仅针对具有医疗用途的器械,MDR新规首次覆盖了辅助器械进行清洁、消毒和灭菌的相关设备,以及其他无预期医疗目的的产品等等;同时MDR中的技术性概念与术语大幅度增加,从原先MDD中的14个增加到71个,对技术细节的要求大大提升;在器械的安全使用和性能要求中也增加了十余个新条款,对医疗器械从设计、生产、销售、售后等各个环节做出了更细致的风险管控要求。

总而言之,MDR新规提升了医疗器械获得CE认证进入欧盟的门槛,对行业厂商提出了更高更全面的要求。

高质量医学翻译对CE认证的重要性

高质量医学翻译对CE认证的重要性

MDR新规中Article 10第14条对于厂商需要根据欧盟各国语言提供产品信息和文件做出了明确规定:

“Manufacturers shall, upon request by a competent authority, provide it with all the information and documentation necessary to demonstrate the conformity of the device, in an official Union language determined by the Member State concerned.”

因此在MDR新规下进行CE认证申请的过程中,各类信息和文件的多语言翻译将会对MDR合规产生重大影响。不仅要提供相关欧盟国家官方语言的翻译,更加要确保能够准确传递产品相关的技术信息。高质量的多语言翻译是各类医疗领域厂家通过CE认证进入欧盟市场的先决条件。

如您想了解更多关于文档翻译与目标市场合规(尤其是欧盟市场)方面的详细信息,可以参考手册翻译与目标市场合规

ISO认证是您获得高质量医疗翻译的保障

既然多语言翻译对于CE认证至关重要,那么面对市面上服务能力和质量参差不齐的供应商,您改如何确保在尽可能少试错的前提下获得高质量的医疗翻译交付呢?我们不妨将行业认证的思维用在语言服务行业:CE认证可以让欧盟的客户找到符合欧盟标准的产品,那在语言服务行业中,您能通过哪些认证标准找到优秀的翻译公司呢。

对于翻译公司而言,ISO认证是目前行业中接受程度最高,标准最全面完善的认证体系,对于您处于医疗行业,可以参考的ISO认证体系主要有三种:

  • ISO 9001质量管理体系
  • ISO 17100翻译服务质量管理体系
  • ISO 13485 医疗器械质量管理体系

ISO 9001质量管理体系

ISO 9001质量管理体系从整体上面认证了一家翻译公司在质量管理方面的规范性,确认了一家公司具备健全的质量管理制度,规范的信息管理规则,以及明确的组织人员架构等等。翻译公司如果具备ISO 9001质量管理体系认证,说明该公司的质量管理水平和能力体系均已达到国际标准水平,是值得信任的专业供应商。

ISO 17100翻译服务质量管理体系

ISO 17100翻译服务质量管理体系是语言服务行业中认可度最高的专业认证。该认证分别从译员资质、流程控制到技术使用进行了全面的管理认证。具备ISO 17100认证资质的翻译公司可以确保以专业优秀的译员资源通过行业内最为规范标准的项目管理和质量控制流程进行处理,同时通过最先进的语言技术持续提升效率,降本增效,因此该认证也经常被认为是语言服务行业中的金字招牌。

ISO 13485医疗器械质量管理体系

ISO 13485医疗器械质量管理体系可能会被很多行业人士误以为仅针对器械制造商本身,但实际上ISO 13485标准面向的对象为医疗行业中的所有参与者,这其中当然也包括翻译公司这个角色。ISO 13485标准提出了医疗行业中针对质量管理体系QMS(Quality Management System)的详细要求。当然ISO 13485标准不应该被简单看成是ISO 9001在医疗行业的升级版本,因为拥有此体系认证的翻译公司能够直接证明其在医疗行业广泛开展服务的经验和能力,是对客户信心最好的保证。

ISO认证让您的产品国际化业务事半功倍

ISO认证让您的产品国际化业务事半功倍

由于医疗器械与身体健康息息相关,医学翻译与一般普通的技术翻译在质量要求上面也存在着明显的差异。此外,由于医学翻译中大量的需求都与设备认证相关,翻译质量也会直接影响到认证的结果,乃至上市销售的日程。因此对于医疗器械和设备的制造厂商来说,在医疗翻译业务中完全依靠采购追求低价等因素而转向不具备专业资质和经验的翻译服务供应商将有可能产生很高昂且不可控的试错成本,给业务出海带来未知的风险。

ISO认证恰好就可以帮助您以最简单便捷的方式迅速从众多供应商中识别出其中最具备医疗行业翻译资质的公司,从而建立最稳定可靠的合作关系,让您的产品国际化业务事半功倍。


联系我们

请求报价或与我们的团队联系了解更多明汕的语言服务

发表评论

您的电子邮箱地址不会被公开。 必填项已用*标注

I'm not a robot *

明汕翻译

The medical industry is playing an increasingly important role in the development of modern society and the improvement of living standards.

How ISO Certified Translations Help CE MDR Certification

Medical industry companies from around the world are striving to expand into more markets at a faster pace to capture more business opportunities, especially in the European market which has shown the most promise. In to their highly developed and rich market demands, European countries also have one of the most complete market access systems, namely the CE mark. Similar to FDA certification in the United States, device and product manufacturers must first obtain CE Certification in order to market their medical devices and equipment in the EU. To obtain CE certification, medical devices and equipment must meet all the requirements of the European Medical Device Regulation (MDR).

What is MDR?

MDR is a regulation of the European Union on the clinical investigation and sale of medical devices for human use issued in 2017. MDR has officially replaced the Medical Device Directive 93/42/EEC (MDD) and Active Implantable Medical Device Directive 90/385/EEC (AIMDD) as of May 26, 2020.

During the 3-year transition period from the issuance of the MDR in 2017 to its implementation date in 2020, relevant enterprises were still allowed to apply for CE certification in accordance with the requirements of the MDD and AIMDD. However, the relevant provisions in the MDR state that CE certifications issued during this transition period shall be valid for no more than 5 years. As such, any CE certification granted under the original MDD and AIMDD frameworks will expire on May 27, 2024, at the very latest, after which all CE certifications must be based on the MDR.

While the MDD and AIMDD only covered professional medical devices (including non-active medical devices), the MDR will be the first to cover equipment for the cleaning, disinfection, and sterilization of auxiliary devices, other products with no intended medical purpose, and others. The technical concepts and terms have also greatly increased, from 14 in the MDD to 71 in the MDR, and the requirements for technical details have also greatly expanded. Over 10 new clauses have been added to the requirements for the safe use and operation of devices, and more detailed risk control requirements have been introduced for medical devices in terms of design, production, sales, after-sales, and other areas.

On a whole, the MDR has raised the threshold for medical device CE certification in the EU and has placed higher and more comprehensive requirements on manufacturers in the industry.

The Importance of High-Quality Medical Translation Service for CE Certification

How ISO Certified Translations Help CE MDR Certification

Section 14, Article 10 of the MDR clearly stipulates that manufacturers must provide product information and documentation in an EU language:

“Manufacturers shall, upon request by a competent authority, provide it with all the information and documentation necessary to demonstrate the conformity of the device, in an official Union language determined by the Member State concerned.”

As such, the multilingual medical translation service of various information and documents will have a significant impact on MDR compliance during the CE application process. This serves not only to provide a certified translation in the official language of relevant EU member countries, but also ensures that the technical information of the product can be accurately reflected. High-quality multilingual medical translation service has become a requirement to enter the EU market through CE certification for manufacturers in a variety of medical sectors.

To learn more about manual translation and compliance with target markets (especially the EU), refer to our article here.

ISO Certification Helps Guarantee High-Quality Medical Translation

As multilingual medical translation has become essential for CE certification, how can one ensure the delivery of high-quality medical translations with as little trial and error as possible, especially when service capacity and quality may differ wildly between translation vendors? In fact, we can apply the same principle of industry certification to the translation industry. If CE certification allows customers to identify products that meet EU standards, what certification standards can be used to find high-quality language service providers (LSPs)?

ISO certification is the most accepted and comprehensive system for the translation industry. Customers in the medical industry can primarily refer to the following standards:

  • ISO 9001 Quality Management Systems — Requirements
  • ISO 17100 Translation Services — Requirements for Translation Services
  • ISO 13485 Medical Devices — Quality Management Systems — Requirements for Regulatory Purposes

ISO 9001 Quality Management Systems — Requirements

ISO 9001 certifies a company’s standards in quality management as a whole, confirming that the company has a sound quality management system, standardized information management regulations, a clear organizational structure, and more. ISO 9001 certification means that a translation company boasts a quality management system in line with international standards, and that they are a trustworthy and professional supplier.

ISO 17100 Translation Services — Requirements for Translation Services

ISO 17100 is the most widely recognized professional certification in the language services industry, Covering comprehensive management from translator qualifications and process controls to utilization of technology. ISO 17100 certification means that a translation company can ensure that high-quality and professional translator resources are processed through the most standardized project management and quality control processes in the industry. Often regarded as a gold standard in the industry, ISO 17100 also certifies that the company is making use of the most advanced language technologies to improve efficiency and reduce costs.

ISO 13485 Medical Devices — Quality Management Systems — Requirements for Regulatory Purposes

While some may mistakenly believe that ISO 13485 is only targeted toward device manufacturers themselves, the standard in fact covers all participants in the medical industry, including LSPs. Though ISO 13485 outlines detailed requirements for a quality management system (QMS) in the medical industry, it should not be regarded as merely a more targeted version of ISO 9001. ISO 13485 certification provides direct proof of an LSP's experience and capacity to provide services for the medical industry and serves as a guarantee for consumer confidence.

ISO Certifications Improve the Efficiency of Internationalization

ISO Certifications Improve the Efficiency of Internationalization

Medical devices are closely related to physical health, leading to clear differences in the quality requirements between medical translation and general technical translation. As a large number of medical translations deal with equipment or product certification, the quality of the translation will also have a direct effect on the certification result, and even the time-to-market. For manufacturers of medical devices and equipment, focusing on low prices and other factors without regard for professional qualifications and experience during procurement may result in high and uncontrollable trial and error costs, leading to greater risks in the internationalization process.

ISO certification allows you to quickly pick out LSPs with qualifications in the medical industry from the crowd, establish stable and reliable cooperative relationships, and improve the efficiency of product internationalization.


Get in touch

Request a quote or connect with our team to learn more about Maxsun’s language services.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

I'm not a robot *

Maxsun Translation